Macros For Lemony

Tiny Fan Palm Growing From A Stray Seed

I saw Lemony’s blog when I started reading blogs here.  (http://lemonygregghead.wordpress.com/)  I recall having seen a color shot of some piece of old equipment she photographed with a macro lens.  The repetition of the shapes there reminded me of “The Scream”.  I studied more of her macros and realized she was doing what I always tried to do without a dedicated macro lens.  So I ordered a Nikkor 85mm macro lens with VR.  I have that tremor I’m always whining about so I thank God for VR every day.  I have been shy about posting my macros because I don’t think most people really like them.  Tonight, Lemony mentioned a couple of the last ones that I posted.   These are for her.  Thank you, Lemony, for inspiring me to order the lens.  I have enjoyed it more than I can describe to you.

These photographs were post-processed using only fill light, highlight, and shadows.  The macro lens picks up so much color that this is the result of only minor addition of light and shadow.  I am no good with post-processing so I generally take what I get.  Now, you are not required to “like” them, you know.  ;-)

Figure on a Fence Board

Figure on a Fence Board

Bolt in Cedar Post

Bolt In Cedar Post

Charlie's Fort

Charlie's Fort

Dead Bromeliad Leaf

Dead Bromeliad Leaf

Philodendron Blossom

Philodendron Blossom

Old Bark Separating From Queen Palm

Old Outer Bark Separating From Queen Palm

Queen Palm

Queen Palm

One Layer of Separating Bark On A Queen Palm

One Layer Of Separating Bark On A Queen Palm

Concrete Whippet Feet

Concrete Whippet Feet

Center of a Sago Palm "Blossom"

Center of a Sago Palm "Blossom"

Tiny Fan Palm Growing From A Stray Seed

Tiny Fan Palm Growing From A Stray Seed

17 Comments on “Macros For Lemony

  1. I just subscribed to Lemony from your post. You are having so much fun with that lens. I was not planning on taking my Macro to Italy but I may have changed my mind because of what you are doing

    • Your macro will serve as a portrait lens too. It’s actually more versatile than I thought. I have a 50mm, but I stumble around with it since you have to move back and forth to use it. Hell, I’d back off a cliff with that thing. My 85mm is much more versatile.

      Lemony is such a great photographer and such a delightful person. You will fall in love with her and what she does.

  2. My first reaction was, “OOOOOO Textures!” Then “Great macros.”. Followed by, ” Strange exotic images”. Wonderful stuff. No wonder Robert E. Howard could envision all that stuff for his pulp adventures. Texas provides such an intriguing atmosphere.
    The knot in the first shot resembles one of those anime dinosaurs or an eye. You are tricky.

    • And, you, my friend, are my hero! :-) I know I post bad photos and out-of-fashion and even photographically dumb photos, but I like them. Thanks!

  3. I love the macro, George…but you don’t have a “love” button on the blog, so a “like” and a little comment will have to suffice tonight. Thank you. :)

    • Thanks, Pablo. Yes, the philodendron has a very strange kind of a “blossom”. I’m not sure it’s even a blossom.

  4. George, what an absolute treat these are! Thank you! You clearly have an eye for macro photography. The shots of Charlie’s fort are fantastic: marvelous colors and textures. The bolt adorned with the spider web is particularly wonderful. (I have a deep fondness for spider webs, you know.) I very much like the composition of the 3rd one (again, great lines, colors, and textures…). The VR is certainly serving you well: the clarity of the ridges of the bromeliad leaf and the blossom of the philodendron is perfect. The details you’ve captured in the bark of the queen palm are superb (details are what macros are all about!). I love that you didn’t do any “image gardening” for the whippet feet and left the crushed, dried leaves there: they really contribute an interesting element to the shot, magically adding movement (as if the whippet had pounced on them.) Is that the famous Sago Palm whose seed balls are so toxic?! Such a beautiful poison. :-)

  5. I love seeing faces in objects, someday I’m going to see Jesus in my toast and make a fortune on ebay!! :)

    I like the whippet feet too! All beautiful.

  6. Nice stuff here, boss! I like the whippet feet one best, I think. Poetry and photography go together remarkably well, I’ve noticed. Every poem I write is intended to show a picture…and each picture has a deeply personal poem at its heart. :)

  7. They are so impressive, you got a nice patterns into the beautiful colours, dear George, you are doing great. Thank you, have a nice day, with my love, nia

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,399 other followers

