Shower Photos

Shower Photo I

Shower Photo I

This is the original shot through the shower wall.

Shower Photo II

This is an altered version.

This is something I’ve meant to do for a long time.  I never remember to do it.  This morning, I did.  Now, don’t tell me not to take my Nikon D300 wearing one of her good Nikkor lenses (With VR, of course)  into the shower.  It wouldn’t do you any good.   Some photography site somewhere told me to close myself up in my bathroom and practice photographing everything there.  This is a start.  You didn’t think I’d take you THERE, did you?    Cupboards, yes.  Bathrooms, no.

Every time I shower, I look at that misty image through the glass wall and think of it as a painting.  I love color.  I try to surround myself with it.  Actually, this tall vase with its fake flowers is pretty.  Everything in life doesn’t have to be real.  My daughter, the decorator, set that vase in the corner of the “garden tub” when she moved me and my stuff into this house next door to her.

I can’t decide.  I think I like the original better.  I enjoy the image of it through the steamy glass every time I step into the shower.  Sort of other worldly.  I like it.

23 Comments on “Shower Photos

    • We don’t create. We see and we tell what we see. I sent CameraVagrant in search of your view of the seedy hotel room. He was complaining that he sometimes can’t find anything to photograph. His view is the opposite of yours. I wanted him to understand. I forgot to give him the link, but I will.

      Like

    • Thank YOU, Nia. I always smile when I see you here. I don’t need to tell you what an enviable talent you are. It’s just there for the soaking in! Lord, how I love those colors. Love to you too. Granny

      Like

  1. When I read the title of this post in my in-box ….I wasn’t quite sure what to expect! ; )

    I agree, the original is simply gorgeous….you’ve stunned me again.

    And btw….and VERY happy Valentine’s Day to you my very dear woman!

    Like

    • Happy Valentine’s Day to you too, my BFF in the clouds.

      I knew it was Valentine’ s Day. My little dimpled Mickey-D girl told me at four o’clock this morning. She works the money exchange window on the night shift. She shows me the huge teddy bear with the heart in his hand before she tells me about Logan (of the coffee window). He’s a jerk. He made her cry. She asks me to talk to him. Logan says he wishes he’d met Dimples before he met Baby-Momma. He admits he’s a jerk. He says he had to tell Dimples he’s trying to work it out with Baby-Momma. I ask if he likes Baby-Momma. He doesn’t. He’s trying to work things out with her because his dad was never there for him. Baby isn’t here yet, but Logan has plans for him. He says things are too complicated. I tell him sometimes it sucks to be young. He agrees, It sucks to be young.

      Thank you, Alex.

      Like

      • Such a soap opera at the Mickey-D’s…and all on Valentine’s Day! I feel for Logan, he seems to be making one mistake after another. Dimples will be fine, she just learned a very valuable lesson.

        I hope your Valentine’s Day was a good one!

        Like

  2. Oh yes, I like this! And you know what, I completely agree with you, the original works on a completely different level, it’s got a dash of ‘rawness’ to it which I really appreciate. Also, this goes to show you that inspiration can be found absolutely everywhere, I don’t know about you, but I sometimes moan to myself that I can’t find anything to shoot, what nonsense, inspiration’s everywhere you look! Really nice post.

    Like

    • Hi, Vagrant-Of-The-Dream! Look. Just look. I promise you it’s there. Check out The Blissful Dreamer’s photographs from a seedy hotel room. If he could find beauty in that place, beauty is everywhere. His presentation of it is different from the way you would have presented it. You would have shown us the gritty, black and white reality of that room. He lays down a little color on it, a different perspective, but he leaves the reality there just below the paint. We see what we see through the lens, don’t we? Each different. Both valid.

      Like

  3. I look forward to your posts everyday, George. I love this. I love what it says about you: your love of color, your appreciation for your daily surroundings, your humor, your integrity…. And, of course, the whole experiment shows us, as always, the rebel in you. You’re “the real thing.”

    Like

    • Hey, Lemony! (I like to say “Lemony”, don’t I?) I’m really happy you like it. I have to snap fast with my VR lens. I have a familial tremor in my right hand from my mother and my grandmother. Retribution, I guess, for tearing my dresses and losing the hair ribbons that would never stay put. I must have been Disappointment passing for a little girl. But…lordy, the stuff I could find! 😉 I thank you because I know you aren’t just trying to please an old woman.

      Like

  4. It is a well balanced composition. The first one has very good earth tones working for it. You could have increased the warmth/saturation a bit, but not necessary unless you were planning to do a high quality print (depends on paper & printer). If I would have done another version I would have gone toward a warm sepia, but I am a warm sepia kind of guy some of the time. 🙂

    Like

    • I only use PSP 4 to remove the junk that the dust and dirt in my lens leaves on my photos! Beyond that, I am no good at photo manipulation. Thank you for the suggestion to increase the saturation. You’re right. I got a “flat” effect there. Would you believe I do better adjusting photos in the free Picassa software? I have a couple of expensive graphics programs that I can’t use and won’t learn to use. Sometimes, that’s frustrating. I really DO appreciate the suggestion. That helps me a lot.

      Like

      • I have a link on my blog for optikverve Virtual Photographer. It can be used as a plug-in with more sophisticated imaging software or else as a stand-alone. It allows you to make many changes to your images in colour & in B&W. Very easy to use and it is FREE .

        Like

        • THANK YOU!! Sometimes, I give up in frustration when I can’t “fix” a photograph that I really wanted to keep. Usually, it’s one of my grandson. Nothing else much matters to me. You are too kind taking the time to help me! 🙂

          Like

    • I liked it too…and it amuses me that it’s a photo of a plastic flower through a wet shower glass. They can make those fake flowers look so real now. I remember the horrid old plastic ones. Now YOU go to far…”Vermeer quality subtlety”! I’ll have to remember that phrase. It might come in handy sometime. I know what you mean though. I just wouldn’t have thought to make such a lofty comparison. Please don’t let me start telling you about the old Vermeer print that hangs over my bed. Some other day maybe. I have to make a mental note of “mink thrown about the shoulders”. Now, that phrase is simply understated grand. Thank you.

      Like

    • A time will come, if it hasn’t already come, when that wonderful little metaphor of the mink will require a footnote for historical context. Sigh…

      Like

  5. I believe I like the original better. I think it lets more of the different colors show through.

    Like

    • Thanks. I like it better too. I usually like the “real thing” better than the artsy versions, don’t you? Well, hell, I know you do! 😉

      Like

      • Yep George – you answered your question accurately ! That would be my thoughts. Photos are memories of what we’ve seen and filed away to be viewed another time or day !

        Like

Comments

