Macros, Macros, Macros….YES!!! :-)

Buddha Chop

I fetched my new lens out of the Fedex Ground Shipping Depot yesterday.  Now, I have a Nikkor AF-S Micro 85mm 1:3.5G ED VR lens!  You may never see another regular photo out of me again.  Am I having fun yet?  Whadda’ you think?   I thought I ought to warn you to either un-folow me or hold on!  🙂  Here are the first ones I snapped tonight.

Coconut Bark??

This is one of the hard, bark-like parts of a chew toy for Rita.  These things are so hard that she can’t break them.  They’re the oddest looking things.

Buddha Chop

Buddha Chop

This is the little Buddha who is carved on top of an old soapstone chop or seal that I bought somewhere a long time ago.  I only noticed his broken nose when I saw the Macro. He’s very tiny.  I have no idea what the characters on the bottom of the seal mean.  I used to use him with cinnabar sealing wax when I could still write letters.

Rita's Pagoda Detail

Detail on Rita’s Pagoda

I am astounded at by what a small detail looks like in macro!  This is Christmas all over again!  😉

Brass Detail on Porcelain Vase

Brass Detail On Porcelain Vase

This bird is a detail on the side of vase near my desk.

 

Pewter Letter Opener

Pewter Letter Opener

This is one of my favorite letter openers.  I always liked her.  I like the feel of pewter anyway.  I like her attitude. The way she holds her head interests me.

 

Tolstoy

Tolstoy Book Jacket

Does that make your eyes go funny?  It does mine.  I’m in a bookcase now!  (Is that a song lyric?)  Are you guys laughing at me?  That’s okay.  I’m laughing too!

 

Bookmark in old bookcase

Bookmark in Old Bookcase

I’m having entirely too much fun!  Obviously, this is a bookmark.  One of those brass hook ones.  The edge of a photograph frame is on the right side.

 

Hardback Cafe Mocha Cup

Hardback Cafe Mocha Cup

I like the design on the mocha cup.  Of course, it really isn’t quite that color!  😉

 

Detail from Dean's Urn

Small Detail from Dean's Urn

This is the first macro I shot.  It’s a small detail from my husband’s urn.  The urn sits on the mantle.  I enjoy the scenes on it, and, of course, I like having his ashes at home.

 

Detail Inside Rita's Pagoda

Detail Inside Rita's Pagoda

Another detail from a hanging thing inside Rita’s pagoda.  The “hair” at the top is frayed hemp rope.

 

Boy

Boy

I leave you with Boy.  A very small photograph inside a larger frame.  It sits on my desk and makes me grin every time I look at it.  Ah, that sweet Boy.  

I hope I didn’t bore you to death.  I’ve had such a good time snapping things tonight.  Thanks for looking!  😉

21 Comments on “Macros, Macros, Macros….YES!!! :-)

  1. Pewter letter opener is outstanding. You have basically multiplied your posting ability by a power of 10 with this new purchase. Now, the playground is much larger without the space increasing. You changed the scale and now the view will be vastly different. If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at will change.
    That lens is not cheap, but it will more than earn its keep with you.

    Like

  2. I LOVE the shot of Rita’s Pagoda….but I LOVE even more that you’re having FUN. In my opinion, there’s very little reason to ever have anything but. Carry on!

    Like

  3. I absolutely love macro, macro, macro! You’ll have to work a bit harder to get rid of us/me.

    I rather enjoy your letter opener, too…her posture…definitely some attitude there. 🙂

    Like

  4. Wonderful ! All the small details that stitch together the moments of our lives. Very well done ! Love your enthusiasm; it is contagious. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, Pablo. I am very shaky so it is difficult. Often, my images are not sharp. I really appreciate your forgiving eye! And your kindness. Thank you.

      Like

    • Ha Ha, Francis! No, I don’t think it will ever be the same. I’m thinking of illustrating a “How-Not-To” manual on photography! When I do, I’ll be wealthy beyond belief soon thereafter! But, the fun is always in getting there, huh? You are too clever for me! I really am having fun, and I’m grateful to everybody who looks at my photographs with a forgiving eye! Thank you.

      Like

    • Victor, I desperately need to be in your classes! I have the attention span of a two-year-old, the memory of a common garden slug, and the steady hand of a junkie in desperate need of a hit. Think I’ll passed the entrance exam?

      Like

    • If I were having any more fun than I am, I’d have a heart attack for sure! Don’t you love it when old people find new things to excite them? I do and I’m (technically, you understand) one of them! Ha Ha…

      Like

  5. I’ve fallen behind on your posts but have to jump in and say how delighted I am by this one! I know how much fun you’re having taking macros. Doesn’t the world change when you start looking at things up close?!

    Like

    • I think I am going to bore everybody to death the way an infant does who discovers his toes and thinks he’s found the secret to life. Maybe he has not that I think of it! Thanks for encouraging me. Or maybe as our parents said when we were being foolish, “Now, don’t encourage her!”

      Like

  6. These are so beautiful photographicaly voyage dear George, I can’t get bored by watching your photographs… They are all amazing and interesting… But yes, the boy, it is the best one, blessing him! You really did a great job with all these macros… I love to see the world from your eyes. You are one of my amazing photographers… Thank you, have a nice week, with my love, nia

    Like

  7. I’m so glad you enjoy this, and continue to do this blog. Hope the lens is working out for you, and keep the fantastic photos coming!!!!!

    Like

    • I’m just snapping away! Good, bad or photos, I’m loving my new lens! Thanks, JC. Your opinion means a lot to me.

      Like

  8. Thanks, Shimon. I’m sure I won’t be able to resist them! I love details. You will notice that I spend all of my time at home or within a few miles of it. I like it here. 🙂 There is always something that interests me. I just don’t seem to find the time to go out much. I have so many little things lying around that I want to “macro”. It brings out the tiniest details that we don’t see otherwise. I love it. I had a macro lens with my old Nikon D80, but it causes “Dead Battery Syndrome” on my D300. That is an issue with the D300. Thanks for your constant support. I appreciate it.

    Like

  9. Not laughing at all. This is an important discovery, and I appreciate your enthusiasm. Looking forward to seeing more macros.

    Like

Comments

