Fun For Free

Split-Leaf Philedendron
Boy's Toes

Boy's Toes

Porch Floor

Porch Floor

Rotting Fence

Rotting Fence

Fan Palm Leaf

Fan Palm Leaf

Jasmine on the Fence

Jasmine On The Fence

Split-Leaf Philodendron
Split-Leaf Philodendron

Google updated their free graphics software program, Picasa, this morning.  They really jazzed it up with all sorts of special effects.  I had fun manipulating some images.  These are extreme because I was just playing.  It really is a useful and rather powerful program and it’s free.  Can’t beat free, huh?   Best of all…it’s easy!  I like Easy!  😉

20 Comments on “Fun For Free

  1. Very well done George ! Remember that the effect is only as effective as it is used. In your case, you have excellent compositions to begin with, so the special effects tool is very effective because you used it very well. You thought I was going to say effectively didn’t you ? 🙂

    Like

    • I really am not an artsy kind of person. I blame this silliness on Google. They sent an update to their simple graphics program that included these features. I collect old etchings, engravings and watercolors. I am having fun with this new electronic medium for the moment, however. My baby steps into the graphic arts! 😉

      Like

  2. I am glad to see Picasa is updating. I gave it up last year when I got light room (not free) and now i have too much invested to consider a return.
    Playing with settings and effects has been one of the biggest and fastest ways I have improved my photography. These are fun shots indeed!

    Like

    • Creepy once you realize those designs ARE creeping green mold. Glad you liked it. It was fun. Now, I’ll be screwing up all of my photographs! 😉 This graphics program is definitely not for purists!

      Like

    • Daisyfae! Now you’ve creeped me out. I see faces too! Geeze, I’ll have nightmares. Bad girl! 😉

      Like

    • Ana, these are extreme, but the Picasa editing software is good, extensive features, easy and fast to edit with. And, it’s free. It would serve for fast editing jobs just as well as way more complicated programs. Download from http://www.picasa.com and try it. Nothing lost since it’s free. The program is built on a stable platform. It will not screw up any other of your programs!

      Like

    • Thank you, Gail. I just clicked away on every single feature until I liked the effect. I have no editing skills, period! You can do fast and easy editing with this program. It’s powerful enough to do most editing jobs. I use PaintShop Pro for one thing: cloning out the spots on my photos left by the junk INSIDE my camera! It’s so bad now I think I’m going to have to send the camera back to Nikon for cleaning! 😉

      Like

    • Gail, I just watched your slideshow at http://grs614.zenfolio.com/. WOW. Your perspective is brilliant. I felt as if I were walking along with you seeing the shots at the same angle you saw them. That’s the way I see everything too. I thought I had to “straighten my view”. Now, I feel good about the way I see. These photographs are phenomenal. I notice you are an adept editor too. Layers? Forget it, George! Such variety and color and composition. Never forced. Your “street” photographs are among my favorites. I just simply had a good time there saying “ah, so” and YES! 🙂

      Like

  3. Interesting photos, George. I have Picasa, too. Do we have to do anything to upgrade it, or just open it and let it happen? 🙂

    Like

    • I got a pop-up notice, I think. It wasn’t by email. Just check for updates and you’ll get it. The download was really fast and installed while the program was open. You’ll really like the new features! If you just open the program, I think you’ll see the notice.

      Like

  4. Seems that it was a great fun. I loved them all dear George, but especially this jasmine on the fence fascinated me. Do you know it also makes me feel the smell of jasmine too… This is great image. Thank you my creative lady, have a nice week, with my love, nia

    Like

    • Nia, this program is free from http://www.picasa.com. It is easy and powerful and has all of the simple editing features of expensive programs. It is fast and easy to use. It has a remarkable assortment of features for normal editing too. It has sliding bars to quickly adjust tone and color, contrast, etc. Best of all is that it’s free. 🙂 I like the last photograph: the philodendron leaf. You can get a wood block print effect like that one easily in this program. Great for art students and easy for young photographers. Thanks! You have a good week too. Did you send the email?

      Like

  5. Wow, it looks like free and easy is also incredibly FUN! I’ve never used Picasa, but now I’m going to have to check it out. All of these images are intriguing in their own way, but I I really like the photograph of the Rotting Fence: it looks more like water than a fence!

    Like

    • This is a powerful program built on a very stable platform. I’ve used Picasa for a very long time. It’s easy to use. Now, Google has added these features to keep up with what I call the “Grunge” market. But, there is very little grunge in it. It has standard editing features, double screen view, sliding bars to see shades, color, tones, grain, etc., fast without applying them. No messing with layers, rasters, etc. It’s easy enough for middle school kids to use in art and photography classes, yet it’s powerful enough for professionals to use for fast editing. Google is onto something here with this free program! I got my initial program from Picasa.com. I didn’t know it was a Google program until this update! There are innumerable possibilities in this thing! Charlie saw his feet and said they were ugly. “They look like Tutankhamun’s feet!”, he said. I believe they do. 😉

      Like

Comments

