Critical Message From WordPress

“Most Likes in One Day

On Wednesday March 21, 2012 you surpassed your previous record of most likes in one day ( 7 ) for your posts on She Kept A Parrot. That’s pretty awesome, well done!

Note: we started tracking this March 2012.”

Now, that, my friends, is the notice I got in my drop-down list of folks who clicked “Like” because they were here and didn’t want to waste a visit by leaving no footprint….lots of them.   I do not understand this tracking business.  What is the purpose?  Do people actually keep up with that sort of thing?   Are we selling something here?

I read a really funny piece the other day.  I got there from Mollusk Girl, I think.  If I didn’t, my apologies, MG.  The title of this guy’s post was something like, “Why I Will Never Be Freshly Pressed”.  Does anybody read FP?   I gave it an acronym because I suspect it has importance for somebody.  Anyway, this guy said he would never be FP’d.   A  hilarious list detailing the reasons for rejection followed.   I wish I could recall the list.  Let me tell you.  None of you is going to be FP’d here according to this guy’s criteria…and I trust him because he has carefully, meticulously, researched the subject.  Imagine!

WP thinks seven is “pretty awesome”.  Garden Friend and I think it’s mighty funny.   Forgive me, I just could not resist….

42 Comments on “Critical Message From WordPress

  1. For awhile, when my students kept commenting on how someone’s sandals /runners were awesome, I would point out the meaning of the word. To inspire awe. The Grand Canyon, the Rockies, a night sky full of stars and the Aurora Borealis or a Storm on Lake Superior can instill awe, not shoes. Eventually it was replaced by sexy. Everything became sexy,. Perhaps it is a good thing WordPress stayed with awesome .

    As to tracking, if you view WordPress blogs without signing in, you will see an ad at the end of the blog post. They have to pay for a free service somehow. In order to make money from ad space you must be able to demonstrate hits/viewers. Likes, comments, and number of followers represent potential ad revenue. As I re-enforce with my students, “All Mass Media have business interests & target audiences.”

    Like

    • I had no idea that ad thing existed. I wondered why an offered upgrade listed “no ads” as its primary feature. Duh….as the kids used to say. The first time I heard Boy say “awesome”, I thought seriously about smacking off his hairdo. I think he stopped saying it. I have heard him refer to some object as being “sexy”. I think he will outgrow it. If only I can manage to persuade him to use the subjunctive verb correctly for the rest of my life, I will be adequately compensated for my efforts! 😉

      Like

  2. George,

    In order to remove my groggy person from the bed each morning, I resort to flipping through the emails that have been delivered over night. More often than not, it’s one of your blog posts that touch my eyes before anything else.This one started my day off with warmth and a giggle. I’m delighted you read Rich’s (Brains) wonderful post on never becoming FP. After I was finished reading and consequently wiping the tears of hilarity away from my ducts, I was abhorred and astonished to find that only a handful of people had liked it, and even fewer had taken the time to say so. Good works needs to be acknowledged and praised. If not, a lot of crap will continue to think it’s writer is good.

    Anyhow . . . yes, in case I haven’t made myself clear — I can do that, you know, very easily in fact — it was me who re-blogged the FP post. I was underwhelmed when only a couple took the time to read it. So glad it’s slowly receiving the “press” it should have garnered in the first place.

    Also . . . I loved your piece on “Who takes care of you”. I’m not sure if you deleted it or not, but when I clicked on the link this morning, it took me to an error. Anyway, I was/am inspired to write a piece much of the same. I can imagine the time it took in having conversations with those special friends of yours, the cajoling necessary in acquiring their pictures, and then of course the thoughtful sentiments you expressed respectively for each one. I hope they were able to read this.

    Happy Friday, dear George.

    Like

    • Well, MG, everything about this blogging thing surprises me. It’s a fairly unpredictable place, but it’s fun.

      I dumped that post because it was not what I wanted it to be. I have one that suits me better, but I haven’t finished it. I didn’t realize you’d get notified instantly. The thing was not up for more than ten minutes! EEK! I guess I better think before I hit “Publish”. The people whom I know at the places where I frequent are delighted to have their photographs snapped. I really have not had anybody ever to say no to a photo. I would! People just don’t. Do your post on people who really do mean something to you every day. I think we forget sometimes. Thanks for liking my folksy stuff! 😉

      Like

  3. that’s a funny coincidence because i had that same message last night. but what’s funnier is that i had that message again this morning, with today’s date on it. so yesterday, i surpassed my best, and this morning, after only from midnight to about 7am, i passed yesterday. it think it was just interesting timing.

    i recently wondered what bloggers prefer if you only had one or the other: comments or likes? any thoughts?

    i prefer comments because it continues the discussion and it takes more effort – not that anyone owes me any effort, certainly not.

    Like

    • I think we all like comments. It takes a lot of time for people to comment though. I would imagine most people follow a number of bloggers and don’t have time to linger on any one of them for too long. I don’t know how we got started on this conversation. I was only laughing about how my seven was “awesome”! This is a electronically generated message, of course, so it doesn’t matter how many likes there are, you get the same “awesome” message. Thanks for visiting!

      Like

        • I am nuts. I replied to you from a notice, not from this post. Lord, I’m senile as hell. Forgive me. I found your blog from Mollusk Girl’s re-blog. I liked what I saw when I revisited this morning. Hmmm. Will be back. Thanks for the comment…even if you did get me into something of a discussion here. WP should FP your post about FP! You realize everybody thinks we suffer a mild case of sour grapes, don’t you? 😉 I even suggested here that YOU might. I didn’t know much about you….obviously. Now that I’ve read some of your posts, I know that isn’t true. Carry on.

          Like

          • well, you might be right. if not sour grapes, maybe a little squished. and disagreement is good. we learn from disagreement. what would have happened if everyone agreed that slavery was good?

            Like

            • Actually, I admired your post and the guts it took to write it. I only looked at FP once or twice and did not find anything that interested me. You have the credentials necessary for an opinion. I do not. I read a bit of a review of your novel. Now, to read your other posts. I liked what I saw. Congratulations on making the two cuts.

              Like

  4. i got ‘fresh pressed’ once. but within a day, i was back to my wrinkled, gnarled and crispy regular self… it doesn’t last.

    Like

  5. I always thought that treating everybody like children was a United States of America “thing”. Sort of a way of herding people into doing what you want them to do. As WordPress is a USA-based business, although it has employees (and bloggers) all over the world, I thought that we all just had to put up with this infantilization (if that’s a word). I supposed that people who lived in the USA were used to it. There are so many things to Like (click) about WordPress that I just put up with it treating me as if I am two years old or have an I. Q. of around 70. It’s annoying, but I’ve learned to live with it. It’s that, or find somewhere else to blog, as I don’t suppose that WP is going to change any time soon.

    Like

    • Ah, American businessmen know how to appeal to Americans. They stroke the ego, ergo we herd as we are expected to herd. I think this approach might very well be an exclusively “American” one. People from other places around the globe appear to “like” the approach well enough, however. You are an intellectual purist, Lady D. That is why I enjoy your posts so much. I don’t have to “like” although I do like all the time. 😉

      Like

  6. Oh god…all these voices…I like you, love you, adore you, and most of the time don’t have time to hit the like button, let alone the comment button…but my heart is there…my taciturn heart, that is…and…anyway. I didn’t really have anything to say, but thought I’d send you a comment instead of only a “like.” 🙂

    Like

    • I think I love you, Seekraz, you with the taciturn heart! Ha Ha

      We are old fellow Social Worker Cynics, aren’t we? There must be a rehab house for us somewhere. Nah. We wouldn’t sign in. I would have swiped a tee shirt from one of our favorite employees years ago if it hadn’t been quite so full of holes. It read: “Rehab Is For Quitters…”

      Like

      • And I’m loving you right back, George…and maybe we are cynics…looking at the world through our jade-colored glasses….had to put them on to protect against the glare that comes from going around the block a few too many times! 🙂 We’re in good company here….

        Like

        • Yep. I feel right at home. Don’t go anywhere. Been around that block myself. Should we write our stories from those days? Or could we if we tried?

          Like

          • I’m glad you feel so at home…and I’m not going anywhere. I think we should write them, George…you show me yours and I’ll show you mine. 🙂 Look way back into my archives…I’ve already started…….

            I hope you’ll still like me when you’re done reading.

            Like

  7. It’s nice to be liked. Comments are always better but eh, I’ll be fine with someone liking me too. How many times in real life do people actually say it. In one day, no less.

    I’ve been in the Featured section of WP a few times but not Freshly Pressed. My time may have expired and I have no theme, according to that guy. Oh, well…

    Like

    • What is the “Featured” section? This is just too much for an old hermit to handle. I suppose we’d feel really bad if nobody ever visited or “liked” us. I do appreciate that. What I thought was silly was WP’s notifying me that I had a fantastic SEVEN likes on one day…some kind of record. I’m afraid I don’t take my blogging as seriously as I should. AT my age, taking anything seriously is serious! 😉

      Like

  8. It is a fact. Being Freshly Pressed is your due since you do walk on water and nicely too. I am not sure FP is the equivalent Oscar, but their having recognized your brilliance reveals something about the management for which I have renewed respect. I am laughing. That twisted mind of yours continues to fascinate and amuse me, Shimon! I suspect there was a taste of sour grapes in that guy’s post, but it was funny. Of course, the management tries to encourage bloggers. Their inclusion of that canned message just seemed ludicrous to me.

    Like

  9. Dear George, sometime I don’t find anything of interest to me too. Every week changes this front page… But I should say this, I love search something I was always like that… Sometimes a word, or a bird, or a little town while I am searching so many different pages is opening. I love to do this… So, as you can see on my blog too, I love to search on Google too what I interest… I look on this way…Thanks and Love, nia

    Like

  10. Ok, that gave me a total giggle fit. As a less-than-a-month-active blogger, I have been totally floored by how much love and support can be found with even the littlest bit of effort (although I hope I’m doing more than that ;p) and that without ever worrying or looking at WP stuff at all. I appreciate being told how many people are following me, and such…but really, it’s all about the gamification theory. The internet community (an oxymoron if I ever heard one) is conditioned, for the most part, to expect reward for achievements gained. Like treats, for dogs. Now that the cell phone/i-everything generation is here, gamification is becoming the new buzz-word. 4squared…as far as I can tell, it gives you coupons and such if you and enough of your friends like someplace on their map. Forgive me if I got that wrong, but that’s what a quick glance looked like. I didn’t do more than glance, because I don’t have an i-ball or whatever, and likely never will. *shrugs* That’s only one example, though. Wi-fit…any of the other “apps” and extensions that let you count toward a personal goal or whatever…anyone believe that people are always honest on those things?

    Whoops…wasn’t meant to be a rant. I think gamification is a neat idea, on a philosophical level…but it’s also a business model, and WP is, at base, a business. *shrugs* I think it’s up to us, the blogger community, to decide if we want to be ruled by their little “treats” and such, or whether we just stand back, all together, and let them do what they want in the background. We know if we like something or body…and we will make it known in our own way. And, contrariwise, we have enough self esteem (I hope!) to know that we are liked, maybe even loved, without some disembodied voice telling us how “Awesome” we are.

    And yes, please, Shimonz, but make mine a SoCo please. *g*

    Like

    • I agree, KC. I never thought that anybody would read, much less like, what I wrote. Each of us does this thing for his own reasons. I enjoy it. I am absolutely delighted like a child when I see or read a post that provides validation for my world view or that introduces me to a fresh view of an old idea. Like yours, for example. I have no idea how I got to you. It must have been a happy accident! Serendipitous even. I can only read so many blogs. I wish I could read more. I neglect some of the ones that are most interesting and important to me. I am too disorganized for the gamification world. I am too old. I think in terms of good friends…a few. Ones you can count on the fingers of one hand. That has been my experience in the real world, and that world view carries over into this space.

      Like

      • *hugs* Well, even if I never slip into such a lucky position (If I do, can I be the pinky finger? It’s my favorite!) I am still glad to have found you, and happy to have given you pleasure with my…stuff. 😉

        Like

  11. I don’t understand the tracking stuff either and don’t pay much attention to it. Are we going to get a prize or gold star? Maybe those who have been at it longer will have an answer for you. I too read the repost “Why I will Never Be Freshly Pressed” and knew I would never be FP! But it was funny. I am often guilty of a “like” instead of commenting but it does mean I really liked it. Hmm…what else are they tracking?

    Like

    • I wonder. I don’t care what they track, of course. We’re all tracked every time we hit a key in this place. I click “like” too if I actually like what I see. I should take the time to explain why I like something. Sometimes, I feel bad about not commenting so I have tried to limit my impulse to hit the “like” button.

      Like

  12. Hi dear George, I don’t know how it works this Freshly Pressed… Once, no, twice I was on Freshly Pressed… It was at the beginning of my blogging life in here. In my opinion I was thinking that they make this some of members just to be known better by others and to get the activities between bloggers… But in time I noticed that they can also make some members who are also known very well by others and also being active place too. So, now I don’t know what is the criteria for this. It is not so important for me to be there or not… But I visit sometimes this Freshly Pressed page and I can say, I met with some beautiful bloggers because of this… Otherwise I don’t know where are they all these beautiful bloggers… Yes, I also meet on your blogs too… This is another way to meet with new bloggers… About “Like” button and also these stars for your marks… what means all of them I don’t know… But I usually give them who has this options… But of course to leave a message on comment place is the best one. But sometimes you may not have time to write so you can just click them… I always try to give my comment into the words… But sometime just click to this like! There are some members till today I haven’t heard them just I see them they are visiting and showing their like that’s all… Sometimes I go and visit their blog and I talk… and sometimes they reply me and they start to talk with me… Actually there is nothing problem for me… Just I like to read and to write… Thank you dear George for this post. With my love, nia

    Like

    • I can understand why you and Shimon would appear on anybody’s featured list of blogs. Perhaps, I should take this Freshly Pressed thing more seriously. I might find blogs that I really like there. I only looked at it once and did not find anything of interest to me. I can keep up with only so many blogs. I am over extended now. I am so fortunate to have found the people whom I know already. Thank you for your insight into this Freshly Pressed thing.

      Like

      • You’re too apologetic, George. You were completely right the first time, and as amusing as always. We don’t need a pat on the shoulder from the management. Enough to read FP once, to know that on the average it’s boring, though now and then they do catch a good one. But you and I met without a matchmaker, so there are miracles in this dimension too. And there is that problem, of too much to read at times… after all, there’s a few of us who actually want to live our lives…

        Like

        • Of course, you are correct again. If you keep this up, you are going to replace that little man who has sat on my shoulder wagging his little finger for my entire life. 😉

          Like

          • That’s probably why you got the parrot… to push him off your shoulder. But you can be sure, my dear, that any remonstration or advice to you from me, will always be accompanied by a kiss.

            Like

            • I know that already, silly man. My dear departed Mother put him there. Nothing can shake him off. I used to say I could have had a grand time in my life had she left off that little man…. Ha. She knew what she was doing…

              Like

  13. Very likely that WP is trying to keep business going by directing a constant hype at the users. We get a pat on the shoulder every time we manage to fulfill their goals for us, and that word awesome has appeared in a number of letters I received from the management. Someone thinks we’re awesome. In my case, I took it as my due, since I walk on water, and turn a stick into a snake if I don’t like a visiter… but now that I’ve heard that they’re talking that shit to everyone, I might turn my stick on them, virtually of course. And in the meantime, what can I say to you, my dear, except welcome to the club… guess we’re all pretty awesome… as proven by the fact that somebody likes us. Care to join me with a shot of Jack?

    Like

Comments

