The Originals

Palm I

 

 

Palm Leaf Light Shadows

 

 

Light Drenched Palm

 

 

Here are the originals for three of the artsy ones from the last post.  I didn’t like one of them anyway and the other was not an original.  I added shadow and a bit of contrast to these.   Maybe they aren’t so bad?  I dunno’.  At any rate, I am going to throw out my flash and learn to use the camera in aperture priority for Lemony.  And, yes, Michael, I will use the tripod.  I’d be willing to bet I either screw it all up or fall and break a hip trying to manipulate the tripod.  Whatcha’ bet?

You guys are all angels.  I think WP sent out a volley of sad little hearts and all of you caught ’em.  Thank you.  Every one of you!   🙂

 

 

26 Comments on “The Originals

    • Thank you, Terri. Fan palms are particularly interesting because of the way light plays on their accordion leaves. I am glad you liked them. 🙂

      Like

    • I did too. I am fascinated by fan palm leaves. I cannot tell you how I laughed at your clever posts. I spent WAY too much time reading them and the hilarious comments. I came there from Joseph’s blog. I knew that if Joseph followed you, there would be fun aplenty there! He was right! 🙂

      Like

  1. Tripods are sturdy if you get a good one. If you start to slip just grabbed tightly to the camera and snap a few images while holding on for dear life. Then you will have a great story and your hip will remain intact 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Gail. I simply cannot stop watching the light on the fan palms. It fascinates me. I keep taking the same photos of the same palm leaf shapes! 🙂

      Like

      • I think we all continue to take pictures of things that fascinate us….they could be the same picture over and over…every time, it looks completely different!

        Like

  2. Beautiful, they are all beautiful too… I loved how you looked them… created such a nice composition and I can see how inspired you that you worked on them so nicely too… Thank you dear George, with my love, nia

    Like

    • Yes, fan palm fronds are mysterious and captivating. Often, I just walk around among them and marvel at their voices. Each is different in its own way. They all love to play with the light! 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m very fond of palms, so it’s easy to win me over with these. I’m also a big fan of the color green.
    Palm l is brilliant.

    Like

    • You and I would like the first one. Almost all of the fronds on these palms grow this way. It is a fan palm so the light is fascinating on the accordion leaves.

      Like

  4. Very pretty…I had six of those trees in my yard in Arizona for 20 some years…spent a lot of time pruning…. Beautiful photos…memories of hard work on a tall ladder. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    • Yep, taking off one leaf on these babies creates a big pile on its own. Mine are not huge like the really tall variety of the same palm. When they get as tall as yours were, pruning is a problem! Palms are my favorite trees. I love the way the leaves are shaped and catch the light.

      Like

    • Thanks, Victor. I always look at you photographs and wonder if I ever could have taken that kind of perfect image….even when I did not have the tremor. Your photographs are classic, you know.

      Like

  5. Love them!
    I think this is the same kind of plant that I used for one of my posts of this week, you know which one I’m talking about 🙂
    Love the shadows in the second photo!

    Like

    • Yes, you reminded me. Where is my prize? 🙂 I love Fan Palms. The light plays on them in interesting ways all the time. You reminded me of these photos with your post. That’s how I got the courage to post these. Thanks, Pablo.

      Like

  6. I like all of these too. It’s your eye that is important, George (says she who knows nothing about photography, however, I am sure that it is the artist who shows us what (s)he sees.)

    Like

Comments

