Pouring Lights

Some more photographs that I was about to delete, but I had fun playing with them.  I thought you might find them fun too.  Real photographers know how to make lights.  I made mine by happy accident.  One Christmas, I tried to photograph Boy in front of the Christmas tree.  When I saw the first one, I just kept snapping away.  I had never seen bubbles of light in a photograph.  I was delighted.  I still am.  Now I know how to make a nice Christmas card.  Turn off the lights.  Set the camera on auto.  Snap away at the Christmas tree.  Kids in front of the tree are optional.  (If I didn’t already have one, I certainly wouldn’t go to the trouble of borrowing one from a neighbor.)

NOTE:  See Kenneth Todd‘s blog for instructions on creating this effect on purpose!  😉

41 Comments on “Pouring Lights

  1. Pingback: Bokeh Tree Lights « sharing me myself and i

    • I did too, Aine. I probably liked it because my grandson is in there. I wanted it to look like a “universe” or “worlds” around a child. Thanks for liking it! 🙂

      Like

  2. Very cool shots George!
    Love the 6th one, the HDR Effect on that one is truly amazing and very original, never saw something like that.
    Glad you didn’t delete them 🙂

    Like

    • I’m glad you like my bubbles, Pablo. I’m going to try to do it “on purpose” next time. 😉 The possibilities with light bubbles are endless. I just like bright colors, but you could do black and white or lots of other combinations. I like the HDR effect on lots of stuff since it makes the details more prominent. I don’t use a professional graphics program so I am limited in what I can do. (Not to mention the limitations inherent in my photos to begin with!) Thanks for encouraging me.

      Like

  3. I’m often tempted to post my “happy accidents,” but mine aren’t as pretty or as interesting as this on, so I restrain myself!!

    Like

    • Dangit, Joseph! I knew you’d say that as soon as I looked at what I’d done. I started to change some of them to an urbane black and white. Hell, I guess I’m just sixties to the bone. I have a birdhouse that I so want to post, but it’s like the cattails one that you labeled “sixties” so I don’t do it. When I post something like that, I feel like a five-year-old grinning like a monkey as he hold up his crayon drawing. I’m fairly secure about some stuff, but I ain’t that secure in the creativity department! 😉

      Like

    • Thank you, Lady D. I enjoyed working with the dark images from my camera.

      Like

    • Naomi, I am going to do this on purpose, I swear. Next Christmas. If I’m still alive. And, if I don’t forget. Do this for me. I want to know how you do it on purpose. 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you, Uthamz! I smile every time I see you on a blog. You have such a delightful, happy and kind face. You don’t try to look artsy or cool. You are simply Uthamz. I can see that. And I admire it. Never mind that your photography is superb too. I haven’t been to visit lately, but I remember. And I will come around! Thank you for visiting and encouraging me.

      Like

  4. You post some amazing pictures. I’m a photoholic- take tons of pix all the time. I’m no photographer – just love capturing moments, faces, nature & whatever happens to be in front of my face.

    Like

    • Thank you, pretty child. I forgot your name, but I follow you now. Old people, you know! I remember the tacos though. 😉 Try this. Low light or dark with camera out of focus pointing into lights. They just explode in bubbles! I love them. Thank you for liking my photos. I was far too shy to post them for a long time. Then, I decided I didn’t care about the technical aspects of my photos. I liked what I saw there, and if I liked it, maybe somebody else would like it too. Besides, I can’t tell a story without showing you what I’m talking about! 🙂

      Like

        • Let your camera do the work. Aim for as much DOF as you can get. Small lights and lots of them. Auto-focus in low light where the camera can’t find a focal point. Shoot directly into the center of the lights first. Then you can move to the side of the lights to get the effect you see in the the fifth one down. This room was not totally dark. The lights were soft with no overhead light, but it was a normal amount of light for a Christmas night situation in which we were enjoying the huge tree and and our gifts. I think you need some light to capture lots of bubbles. Let me know how you do since I want to try this on purpose next Christmas. Keep smiling, pretty girl. It makes me smile too when I see that face! 🙂

          Like

      • Now that I see it again, I remember Kenneth’s post about it. I’ll be sure to try your method first! 🙂

        By the way, I’m not sure if you ever saw my reply to you the other day (http://lemonygregghead.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/vision/) I know our “notifications” indicator reaches a maximum at 9, and so anything over that gets bumped, so you probably missed it (we are ALL missing replies all the time because of that; I wish WP could come up with a solution to that). Anyway, the reason I bring it up, is because Joseph commented there today, and alluded to you in his response. (He did that on another occasion, but you might have missed that one, too… because of the 9 max, thing again.)

        Like

        • Hey, I noticed that my camera was not set for a shallow DOF as Kenneth suggests. I think you get more background lights if you aim for as much DOF as you can. I think you could do this using any lights. The smaller the lights and the more of them the better. I will try this again next Christmas. “On Purpose lights”, I will call them. Then I can take credit for the results. Ha Ha What you wanna’ bet, it fails! 😉

          Like

    • Ah, Scott. You always make me feel legitimate and validated. You should look at my first blog post. That gives you an idea of how competent I felt to post anything here. Sometimes I look at it and laugh. Would you believe I had absolutely no concept of what a blog was or what WordPress was? I just stumbled upon it and started clicking. To say that post was tentative would be an understatement. I wanted to see if something actually appeared on that thing they called a “blog”. I didn’t care what I posted so I chose a NASA photograph. I got it on there and it looked like a “post”. That post is a metaphor for my entire life, I think. So are these bubbles. If there is any good I ever did, it was the result of some happy accident that brought me there. If I drop dead tomorrow, I won’t forget Scott and the Gulls. Write like you did then. I want to read it.

      Like

      • So if you have come a long way, George, you have. I will scroll back to see where you’ve come from with the blog thing so I understand your reference, but your present contribution to the blogosphere is wonderful…you learned well, it appears; be it by accident or by intent. And thank you for remembering me and my gulls…I don’t recall it being much more than informative…but I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

        Like

    • Victor, coming from you, that’s a sweet sound. They were accidental, of course, but I liked the effect when I played with them. The original photos were drab and colorless. You’d laugh if you knew my absolute delight the first time I saw bubbles in the bokeh of a photograph. Sometimes, I think total ignorance is where we should live since everything is a discovery there. 😉 BTW, I always study your street photos because I know you are an expert and I want to know why they work so well. I still haven’t totally figured out your approach. I like it when you explain what you did. That helps so many people. Thank you.

      Like

    • Stumbling around in total ignorance works once in a great while too. Mostly it’s frustrating though. What do you do, Carl? Except hang out being the most clever guy I know. (Coming from an old hag who does nothing, that sounds like a stupid question now that I think about it!) 😉

      Like

Comments

