Happy Veteran’s Day!

 

Slinky-1200

41 Comments on “Happy Veteran’s Day!

  1. Pingback: Posted by-She Kept A Parrot | Barbara C Rowe Author

    • Thanks, Cardinal! Today’s Slinkys come in such great colors. Mine was a plain metal-colored one! It was the coolest thing I ever had at the time. I must have walked that thing up down the stairs a zillion times. And everywhere else I could think of! 🙂

      Like

    • Hi, Lorna! I’m delighted to see you! 🙂
      Thank you. Today’s Slinkys have such bright, futuristic colors. That makes them even more fun to play with than my old plain metal one! Somehow, I think it might have been primary red? I have to ask my sister, the keeper of the record. 😉 Thanks for stopping by. See you soon! (I swear…)

      Like

  2. Hey, lady, how are you doing? I’m still coming up for air after all of my daughter’s graduation activities. I couldn’t let another day go by without checking in with you and Gail! I’ve missed you both! My slinky never looked as good as yours, great shot, George!

    Like

    • Thanks, Elisa. I am glad to see you! I’ve been thinking about you and intending every day to check on you. I know you are happy to have the graduation done. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

    • You know, I had forgotten the sound until you mentioned it. Now, I have to play with the Slinky again. I am deaf now so I didn’t hear it the other day when I was playing with it. It’s like when Che makes his chirping noises and I don’t hear them. I read that he would make the noises, and I was worried that he was not happy since I could never hear him talking. Finally, not too long ago, I heard this odd sound and discovered that he was talking! 🙂 Thanks for reminding me.

      Like

    • Thank you, Richard. I think the Slinky must be the universal children’s toy. I do like the futuristic colors now. Mine were plain metal, but they fueled my imagination nonetheless. I like the term “retro-futurism”! 🙂

      Like

  3. A slinkey, A slinkey…it’s a fun and wonderful toy! A slinkey, A slinkey….it’s fun for a girl and a boy! (…or something like that!) I definitely remember Slinkeys! Did you ever try to straighten yours out and then try to fix it, by “coiling” it back up? It would never go back to its original shape, so I would tie my little brother up with it!

    Like

    • Haha! I vaguely remember trying to put the Slinky back together again. How I wish I’d thought of using it to tie up my little brother! If he were still alive, I would tell him about missed opportunities. Thank goodness, you were not around when I was a kid. I got into enough trouble on my own! 🙂 Thanks for the visit, WH.

      Like

  4. What a neat photograph! I couldn’t imagine how you did it until I read your reply to Victor’s comment.

    Like

  5. Hey George … nice picture. Like many who have already commented, I too remember the Slinky. The classic toys endure … don’t they. D

    Like

    • Hi Farmer! I was delighted the first time I saw the neon-colored Slinky. I think it is universally appealing to children still. I had hours of fun with my plain-Jane metal-colored one. This one would have fascinated me even more, I’m sure. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Like

  6. Beautiful photo! One of my favorite toys! i could play with a slinky for hours and hours when i was a kid… the metal ones, not the plastic. They felt so cool and smooth and alive… i need a new slinky. yes. i very much need a new slinky!

    Like

    • I remember playing with them too. A simple magic that inspired us to imagine all kinds of living creatures as the Slinky walked for us! We tried to get it to walk up or down all kinds of impossible terrain. It still makes me smile to watch it. The slinky must still be a universal toy. This one is metal too. Yes, you need a new slinky! We all need a new slinky! 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you, Debra. I enjoyed playing with this colorful Slinky. My childhood ones were a plain silver color. There is something magical about the effect of the neon colors when the Slinky walks. 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you, Adrian. Today’s Slinkys are so colorful. Mine were plain. Both are magical, but I like the futuristic neon-colored ones! 🙂

      Like

    • KInd of does look like a creature! 🙂 Slinkys move a little like creatures now that you mention it. I just visited your pathways. A wonderful concept. There is magic everywhere if we look if we look. Thank you for stopping by, Meredith! 🙂

      Like

    • Yes. I saw it lying in the garage where one of the kids dropped it and thought about snapping it in my “magic porch light”. The tabletop glass is very dark so it reflects the image when the late afternoon sun is at the right angle. I photograph lots of stuff on the table. My Slinkeys were plain silver colored. I would have loved today’s neon colors! 🙂 It’s great to hear from you, Victor. I hope everything is good in KSA. I saw the fishes and chuckled as I thought of your description of bobbing like a cork in the ocean! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • Thank you, Rob. I wish my Slinkeys had been such glorious neon colors. However, I’ll trade Slinkey colors for those you see and photograph every day. They are wonderful. I am astounded by your ability to capture them in the wild! I hope your new venture is going well. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you, Naomi! Who knew Slinkeys would come in such colors one day? The kids dropped it in my garage so I snapped it on the porch table where I photograph lots of stuff when the sunlight streams in at the right angle. I had fun playing with it too. 🙂

      Like

Comments

