Brueghel’s Garden

After-Brueghel

Brueghel’s Garden

or

There once was a guy

Named Brueghel

Who famously liked to scroogle

All over the page

33 Comments on “Brueghel’s Garden

  1. Would it be rude of me to observe that this looks like something my mother would have made be make ‘all gone’ before I was allowed to leave the dinner table? If so, forgive me! D

    Like

  2. I don’t think this should be your last attempt at art parody. Or is that art parroty? It’s a fascinating image and I love the scroogle. I does look like a Rohrshack and like Paula, I wouldn’t want to venture an answer!

    Like

    • Art parroty! I love that word. We like made-up words, huh? You’re too funny, Linda. It’s actually Brueghel’s Gourmet Detitrus. Very good for the constitution. 😉 Guaranteed fresh daily from the Brueghel gardens and available only at the finest restaurants in the city.

      Like

      • Swear? I remember an episode of the TV show, “Mad About You,” in which Mel Brooks played the crazy uncle and was asked, during a courtroom scene, whether he swore to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. His answer then will be mine now: “More or less.”

        Like

  3. This should be used in psychotherapy as a flash card with a question: “Now, what do you see here?” I am afraid to answer, but I am really fascinated with the shot 😀

    Like

    • Hi, Paula! “Brueghel’s Garden” was the precursor to the old Rorschach inkblots! How did you guess? Chuckle…
      The image is oddly detailed at this focal length because I used a 2x magnifier filter on a 50mm lens. That’s what produced the strangeness of the photo. Thanks, Paula! Glad you found it interesting! 🙂

      Like

  4. Dear George,
    This one really made me laugh. You are a poet as well as a wonderful photographer with an artistic eye and a talent for visual storytelling.

    Like

    • I knew it would amuse you, Naomi.. That’s high praise, indeed! Thank you.

      “Brueghel’s Garden” may very well be my first and last attempt at art parody! Chuckle…

      Like

  5. I sat staring at this photo, if it was in a book I probably would have spun the book to look at it upside down… scrolled down to read your explanation and for the first time heard of a fellow named Brueghel who liked to scroogle.???? Went to look up the word and found no explanation… well then who is this Brueghel.?? George is writing about him so he must exist… yep he did a Flemish Paint from a little before I was born, a painter… I returned to the photo and sat wondering, did he do this.?? No he couldn’t have, this is one of those fantastic photos George takes… although not sure what was the subject here, a dead plant.?.. full of confusion I decided it had to be a bit of blogville licence and read the comments… now I understand….
    Pulling your leg George, loved the post…

    Like

    • Ha-ha! Thanks, Rob. You’re too funny! The photo is a little odd. It reminded me of Brueghel for some reason. I’m a little nutty, you know. With a 2x magnifier filter on a 50mm lens, you get a great deal more detail than usual from this focal length. That produced the strange photograph. I laughed big time. I knew you were being facetious as I read the comment. My humble attempt at art parody here! 🙂

      Like

    • As in clouds, I see lots of stuff. Lemons sees fish guts. Jo Nell sees a fox face and a dragon head. You see a galloping horse. Ray sees only scroogles. I like your galloping steed! Seriously, I do love Brueghel’s etchings and paintings for their fine detail, but they are “all over the page” which is fascinating to me. 🙂

      Like

  6. I laughed out loud when I read this. It’s very funny. 🙂 The photograph is fascinating. While Brueghel may have been better known for his paintings, for me the image calls to mind his engravings, which I find terribly intriguing. I may even see a little bit of Big Fish Eat Little Fish in here! Or some guts anyway 😉

    Like

    • Ha-ha… Brueghel Fish Guts! That’s funny! The conversion struck me as engraving-like. I too think his engravings are fascinating. Any one detail is a complete image that could stand on its own merit. Thank you for the suggestion.

      Chuckle… I knew you’d be amused…

      Like

  7. I see a fox face (toward the bottom) and maybe a dragon head in the middle. You do like faces. I was not familiar with Brueghel or his sons but had to check them out.

    Like

    • His paintings were illuminating sociopolitical commentary on the times. His “Tower of Babel” is the painting that is familiar to most of us. If you’re into Renaissance history, his painting are fascinating records of the events. I particularly like his peasant paintings and the details of them from paintings like “The Corn Harvest”.

      Of course, I intended this to be a parody. 🙂

      Like

  8. That’s a really neat photograph. I probably would like to scroogle all over the page!!!

    Like

Comments

