Jimmy Cricket’s Death Wish

Death-Wish-I

Uh-oh…

Apparently, Mr. J. Cricket has a death wish…

Cricket

Lucy leisurely considered the dessert menu

Cricket-P2

And finally decided

She was entirely too full for desert anyway

Cricket-P1

So, she watched with only a passing interest as

Mr. Cricket went happily on his way

Oblivious to his good fortune

๐Ÿ™‚

62 Comments on “Jimmy Cricket’s Death Wish

  1. Phew!! That cricket had the Gods on his side! Catching up with the Miss Lucy B Dragon adventures George, and loving them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I love geckos! My parents had them as go-with-the territory house guests when they lived in the tropics years ago. They were all very little, maximum 10 cm long and really cute. They liked the fact that my parents had screens around the whole house because they would catch the mosquitoes and insects attracted to the lights at night.
    Just make sure your roaches never escape. otherwise you’ll have “pets” you really DON’T want! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Aha! People either love or hate geckos. They are creepy critters to me. We have only the translucent, prenatal, pinkish ones here. And they have the sticky feet! I might really like the colorful ones. I love the graphics of them that I see everywhere. They’re cute in the drawings. I tipped over a feeding container of them in my kitchen the other day… Now, I’m sure I have a growing crop of adolescent Dubia roaches lurking under the cabinets! Time for Roach Patrol. I buy sacks of baby ones from a Bearded Dragon breeder in San Antonio. I don’t actually breed roaches, on purpose. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think they put old ladies who breed roaches in homes somewhere… Chuckle… Thanks for stopping by Kiwi! Don’t change your Gravatar. I won’t know who you are! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

    • Thanks, Lynette! Miss Lucy is an interesting creature. As are my other strange critters. I do enjoy keeping these wild animals. They’re a lot of trouble, I suppose, if you didn’t have the luxury of time that I have. I think that I always wanted to keep “wild creatures” as a child and couldn’t so I keep them and enjoy them in my second childhood. Chuckle… Sometimes, when Rita and Cheeky are screeching for me, I wonder what in the world I was thinking! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

    • Hi, Zeeb! geckos creep me out. I love iguanas. I stopped feeding the crickets to Lucy when I discovered that Dubia (not Dubai) roaches (gut-loaded 48 hrs. before feeding) are so much better for her. I also feed them to Koko, the hedgehog. I was rooting for Jimmy too! How funny that we think of such human scenarios when we see animals in those situations. I laughed at Jimmy’s good fortune that Lucy was stuffed on roaches. We don’t mind if she gobbles up roaches! BTW, I spilled six or so roaches in my kitchen. I knew it would happen. It’s off to find the roach patrol, I guess! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Thanks, Lynn. I just looked at your macros. Great work! I’m not sure I’m steady-handed enough and I don’t like tripods. I’ll be back to discover what else you’re up to! Thank you for coming to see me! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • P.s. – My tripod sits gathering dust (pollen?) in the back of my car…and my hands ain’t all that steady either, but sometimes it works!

        Like

        • I know. I can’t manage to use a tripod either. By the time I got it set up, the subject was long gone or the light had changed. I have no idea how people use those things! I have to depend on vibration reduction and image stabilization in the equipment!

          Like

  3. My sister had a bearded something-or-other lizard. It fed on live crickets she bought at the live cricket store (I guess). I know that all creatures have their place (prey or predator) but I just couldn’t own a pet for which I would have to buy live critters to give it to eat. I’m happy with Scrappy my dog!

    Like

    • Ha-ha! That’s what my daughter, Kelli, said too. I adore that little critter although he’s way too much trouble for his size. The live cricket store made me giggle. I am in the keeping-roaches business now. Can you imagine raising roaches on purpose in your house? Lucy gobbles them right up as does Koko. I didn’t know hedgehogs ate live insects, but it makes sense that they would. Lucy is growing and looking more like a real dragon. I missed your comment for some reason. The Mad Cow. I hope you’re doing well. Is the book done yet? Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • The book was done, then I had a writing coach review it. Her comments were spot-on, but now I have some major work ahead of me making the book better. Thanks for asking, George!

        Like

  4. Hilarious! What a great post! I laughed all the way through this. It’s hard not to read thought and expression in Lucy’s face and various postures.

    Like

  5. Haha, these good people have said it all and I’m late as usual – but lovely sequence and story, George – and I’m so glad you’re still allowing comments! Take care, my friend! Adrian

    Like

    • Hi, Adrian. I am having fun with that little Lucy. I hope I can manage to take care of her so that she will grow up. It’s far more complicated than I ever imagined when I brought her home! I’m glad you enjoyed the fun. Thank you, Adrian!

      Like

  6. That withering look on Lucy’s face in the second shot is priceless – I recognise it from some of my teachers! BTW, can send you some NYC cockroaches anytime!

    Like

    • Ha-ha! Yes, Lucy looked at him with something akin to disdain on her face! I appreciate the generous offer of roaches. I really do. But I believe I can manage without a NYC roach infestation! Chuckle… Thanks for stopping by to visit, Patti! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Thanks, Carl. She looks a bit like a little cartoon character, really. I fed her the crickets and finally noticed one on her “tree”. It was easy to photograph since she stays very still until she pounces! Chuckle… Thanks for stopping by to visit us!

      Like

    • Thank you, Elena. I had to feed those little crickets until my colony of roaches arrived. Lucy eats live food as well as fruits and veggies. The roaches are far higher in protein, and I don’t mind feeding insects with no name to her! Chuckle… I appreciate your visiting us, Elena. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Ha-ha! Yep. I just knew she’d give in and lap him right up before he made it to the other side and away. He ended up in the garden along with his relatives since my colony of roaches arrived just in time. Yes, I am raising roaches, on purpose. I never thought I’d see the day… Chuckle…

      Like

    • Ha! Me either! I dumped Mr. C and his uneaten relatives in the garden. I was only feeding crickets until my colony of little roaches arrived. Yep, I have to raise roaches, ON PURPOSE. Hopefully, in their breeder boxes… Otherwise, I’m in deep trouble… Chuckle…

      Like

    • Thanks, Nia! Lucy is a sweet little thing. I love watching her. Mr. Cricket survived. I dumped him and his uneaten relatives into the garden when my roach colony arrived. I have to raise the roaches to produce high-protein food for her. I hope I can take good care of her so that she will grow up into a big girl. Maybe 18 inches long! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Hee-hee! No, I wouldn’t post a photo of Lucy eating him. Actually, she’s too fast (like a frog) to capture the kill. I won’t be feeding any more of J. Cricket’s relatives since my colony of Dubia (not Dubai) roaches arrived today. I have to maintain the colony to produce high-protein food for her. I was taken with watching her allow the little cricket to wander away, too. I dumped out the uneaten crickets in the garden, so Jimmy was undoubtedly among them. Happy endings are the best… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Thanks, Carissa. I was amused to watch Lucy observing Mr. Cricket as he waltzed off. She was full to the eyebrows from her cricket lunch. I have to raise Dubia (not Dubai) roaches to feed her. Somehow, it isn’t quite as horrific to watch her eat a little roach. They don’t have names like J. Cricket… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • I hesitate to tell you… Sweet little Lucy eats crickets for lunch. She has to have a high-protein diet so I was feeding crickets until my colony of Dubia (not Dubai) roaches came today. I have to maintain a colony of them, hopefully in their breeder boxes!! Mr. Cricket got a reprieve, at least. I dumped out the uneaten crickets this morning so he’s probably living in the garden, if that reassures you! Chuckle…

      Like

  7. You captured this perfectly. SURELY Mr. Cricket didn’t just happen to hop into Lucy’s enclosure??? I imagine you’re having fun watching that cute little dragon. She’ll be another good photography subject. I wondered how she’d view Mr. Anole…assuming he survived the winter.

    Like

    • No, I have to feed her insects, and I was feeding crickets since that’s the only insect I could get locally until my Dubia roaches came today. I have to maintain a colony of them to feed her. It sounds insane to raise roaches ON PURPOSE. But, she has to eat high-protein food and that’s the only way to get it. She eats fruits and veggies too. Like us… Chuckle. She’s a cute little thing who won’t be much trouble once I get everything set up and the routine going. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. Love the photos… thought we were going to see a kill of a different kind caught on camera…. you know your photos are of the highest calibre that one can get??

    Like

    • Thanks, Rob! No, I wouldn’t have posted that sweet little Lucy actually eating a cricket! I go for happy endings here. I appreciate the compliment, Rob. I do enjoy being able to photograph things that I want to record for Charlie. Can you believe I have to raise roaches, on purpose? Yep, to feed Lucy! I know. It’s insane, but I’ll try to keep them confined to their quarters lest the white coats come for me… Chuckle…

      Like

  9. You’re doing great things with that camera of yours. Did you once mention that you had purchase some extension tubes? In any case, these are quite pretty pictures … and very sharp too. The lighting is also quite dramatic. You’ve become quite the photographer George. And, yes, Mr. Cricket was quite lucky. D

    Like

    • Thanks, Dave. Yes, I have a set of tubes. I don’t use them much. I have sets of magnifying filters which work well and a couple of macro converters. What I use depends on the size of the subject and the size of the focus area that I want. I used the 105mm for the fist shot here, but the focus area is too small at that range. I switched to a regular 18-200mm for the others. I think the Vivitar AF 0.43x wide-angle macro converter is the best that I’ve used with the 18-55mm lens. It’s a really useful converter with a wide area of focus. Most of the tubes and filters are more difficult to focus, although I use a 2x filter on the 18-200mm for regular flower photos often because it gives more detail and allows for a greater telephoto range than higher magnification filters. The 105mm is not as useful for high magnification at close ranges. It is a fantastic lens for use at greater distances. I bought it for macro, but use it as a regular lens mostly. It’s the best glass I ever had, but it’s a heavy lens. There are just cheaper and better alternatives to these lenses, I think. Of course, over the last few years, I’ve collected a variety of lenses and switch from one to the other often. I am learning and having a lot of fun in the process! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  10. Thank you for the extended visit. I wonder if I will ever get on freshly pressed. Probably not because I don’t have enough text. However, my blog is featured on the Modularity Lite theme page.

    Like

    • Hi, Ron. Your photography certainly warrants an FP, but I think you’re right. I got FP’d for a folksy story about my husband’s little longhorn herd with lots of photos. Increasingly, I see long text posts being featured. Being featured on the Modularity Lite page is better, far better, I think. I use that theme too, but I can’t figure out how to post the photos in the same way you do your gallery. I would be ever so grateful if you’d tell me how to do that. I think the unique thing about your work is the prominent featuring of people. That’s the most fascinating aspect of places. You could post great photos of buildings, landscapes, all day and not come close to capturing the essence of a place the way you manage to do it with your focus on people. I like that difference in your work very much. Thanks for stopping by to visit, Ron!

      Like

      • Upload a bunch of photos while editing a post. In the upper left hand corner of the editor click on “Add Media”. In the upper left hand corner of the window that opens click on “create gallery”. Select the images, and there will be a button at the lower right to create the gallery. Choose how wide it will be, default is 3 images. (I left out a few details, but I think you can get there.)

        Like

    • Ha-ha! That made me really chuckle… I was secretly rooting for the little cricket, myself. I had to feed crickets while I waited for my roach colony to arrive. Can you believe I’ve lived long enough to resort to raising roaches, on purpose? What the heck will I get into next! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you, Rose! I was feeding crickets waiting for my Dubia (yes, not Dubai) roach colony to arrive via UPS. Would you believe I have to raise roaches, on purpose! Now, that’s hysterical. If word gets out, I’ll be institutionalized, for sure! Chuckle…

      Like

Comments

