Miss Lily Through The Screen

DSC_0014-001

Miss Lily has been my photographic nemesis

for years.

DSC_0013-002

When I got my first camera,

I tried to photograph her, with little success.

There was a problem with light and color

and all of those green stems in her center.

DSC_0020-003

I haven’t had much more success in recent years.

There is just something about Miss Lily

that doesn’t like my camera.

DSC_0059-003

Last year, I gave up the struggle and

simply watched her bloom and retire for the winter.

I was convinced that my first photographic subject

would forever be my worst.

 

DSC_0015

This year, I enjoy watching her through the porch screen,

and I photograph her sometimes in the afternoon light.

We have arrived at a truce of sorts in which I make no demands

and she usually refuses to smile on my efforts.

I continue to reach for that Miss Lily portrait that lives in my head.

Perhaps, one day when the stars decree it.

Chuckle…

20 Comments on “Miss Lily Through The Screen

  1. Yes, it must be just the image in your head that you’re missing because these are really nice – seriously! But it’s good because if you’re not getting quite what you want then you’ll keep at it, and we will benefit! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks, Lynn. I suppose it is in my head. I’ve got photos of her in every possible mood. I think my dissatisfaction with it is because I really could not photograph her in the beginning. I’ve made my peace with her, finally! The white coats are going to overhear me talking to her one day and spirit me off to the home! Chuckle…

      Like

    • Thank you, Madhu. I didn’t see your comment. I’m sorry. I’m happy that you like them. The background is whatever light there was. Chuckle… I couldn’t change a background if my life depended on it! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hi, Jackie. I didn’t know it was the love flower! She’s appealed to me for years, but I had no idea… Thanks for the information and for dropping in to visit me! πŸ™‚ I hope the vultures haven’t flown off during my extended absence…

      Like

  2. I love the luminant color here (that’s not a word, but I’m using in anyway because it means what I want): that is mouthwatering color to me. πŸ™‚ Soft, light-filled color. And the smoothness here is really lovely. She is a difficult, elusive subject, that Miss Lily. I have some of those subjects myself. Even if for you this is not quite the Miss Lily you’re aiming to capture, what you’ve shown us here is beautiful.

    Like

    • I thought about you when I flattened and lightened the photos. I was weary of the same old deep colors that I get when I snap her. She really does look more like this. Thanks, Lemony!

      Like

  3. Well I’m at a loss to know what more you could want from Miss Lily. She’s perfectly lovely in every carefully corralled detail you immortalized.

    Like

    • HI, Linda! I’m delighted that you like her photos. I have no idea what I expect when I look through the viewfinder. I suppose I’ll know it when I see it. Thank you very much. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thank you, Wendy. That’s interesting since I had some reservations about the composition of that image. It certainly does not follow the rules! πŸ˜‰ However, not much that I do follows the rules! Thanks for stopping by to visit me and taking the time to chat!

      Like

  4. These are beautiful, George! Miss Lily was posing for you, I think, as you captured her blossoming in stages. I love all the details, the depth…and the backgrounds!

    Like

    • Thanks, Elisa. I took a different approach here. I flattened the images and lightened them. Off the card, they were in much deeper color and shadow. I usually go for deep color, but I am weary of attempting to present Miss Lily in that way. She has been the most difficult subject I ever tried to photograph. I know that sounds foolish to other people, but I suspect all of us have something that we’ve felt as if we couldn’t represent in the way that we saw it. Chuckle…

      Like

Comments

