Big Lucy

Hey, Folks!Β  What’s that wimpy green gecko got that I ain’t got?

42 Comments on “Big Lucy

  1. He is beautiful! Mine have the same orangy colours. Looks like he is growing fast. Great job keeping him going. My female is growing great guns, but the male decided to brumate again for the last month, really weird. Liz

    Like

  2. She’s got the ability to change her color to match her surroundings without fretting in front of a closet full of clothes for half and hour, right? Lucky Lucy! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Well, she’s an obvious “he” now. πŸ™‚ But, we’ll still call him “Lucy” and “her” whenever we please! Yes, he’s grown amazingly fast from that tiny, dehydrates sliver of a dragon. It’s not a secret that I dote on my animals and stuff them with food and everything else they’re supposed to have. I am enjoying him since he lives in a big terrarium on the bar behind the kitchen sink cabinet where I see him all the time and he sees me. I bought a fancy “dragon habitat” for him, but I can’t bring myself to put him in it since he and I seem to enjoy watching each other from his tank in the middle of the action! Little Lucy lives in a smaller tank on the cabinet top below him. Who else would have lizards living in her kitchen where cabinet tops should be used for food preparation? But then, I suppose most people actually prepare food in kitchens? Ha! My kitchen is basically a laboratory for the preparation of animal food and medications. Chuckle… Obviously, I eat out or at Kelli’s. Haven’t cooked anything in years unless it came in a prepared package! Where are the photos of Liz’s dragons? πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. Hello George-
    I just scrolled through all of the posts I have missed…sorry not to have commented on all of them. A new bearded dragon, how’s the hedgehog?
    I have been delinquent in my wordpress activity 😦
    Looking forward to catching UP…it’s going to take me forever!
    Gail

    Like

    • Ha-ha! I know the problem, Gail. I’ve been absent myself. Pneumonia and other annoying stuff. Ugh. I am never “sick”, so this is not my kind of thing! Little Koko is fine. Found out that she is a “he” as is Big Lucy! All of the critters are doing well. I’ll get around to your place soon. Thanks, Gail! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hi, Ute! Thanks for stopping in to visit us! Lucy is something of a character! Bearded Dragons are fun to watch since they are sentient creatures who are interested in watching their humans, too. Lucy has grown accustomed to the camera so that it no longer frightens her. By the way, they sleep in the most ridiculous postures. At first, I thought Lucy was surely dead when I saw her strange sleeping posture in the mornings when the lights came on in her tank. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hi, Millie! Yes, the bearded dragons are sentient creatures. They listen when you talk to them and bond with their human keepers. That quality accounts for the interest in keeping them as pets. They are interesting creatures who remind one of the huge prehistoric “dragons”. They are naturally shy, but they enjoy human interaction. Thanks for stopping by, Millie.

      Like

      • Thanks for the information, George! Bearded dragons sound fascinating indeed. I always thought that they had exceptionally strong gazes, too. That must come from the human interaction aspect.

        Like

  4. Oh, I just love this portrait of Big Lucy! The light in his eye, all the details of his body (so big now!), and the fascinating textures of his skin: really wonderful. BL definitely wins out over that gecko. So much more dignified, too. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ha-ha! You got the green gecko thing. I keep forgetting the name of the insurance company that the gecko represents… The Mad Cow, you know. I wish you could handle him. You’d be astounded at the texture of his skin. He’s actually soft and very warm. Reptiles are supposed to be cold and wet, or so I thought. He has to be very warm (at an average of over 100 degrees) in order to digest his food. That’s why the basking light. It’s surprising to hold him. His body is soft as is his skin. He is actually a soft orange color, but he is about to shed the skin on his body here, so it looks pale compared to his head. He’s a very interesting creature!

      Like

    • She’s a “he”, but we’ll still call him “lucy”! He is a pretty thing if you like the looks of dragons. πŸ˜‰ I don’t like reptiles much, but the dragons are soft and warm and nice… at least, compared to a snake! He’s funny, too. Stalking around as if he’s king of Juraisic Park!

      Like

    • Ha-ha! You’re too funny, RoSy! He does look as if he’s posing. Dragons are funny creatures. He is actually “orange” in color, but he is about to lose his skin again here so he looks two-toned. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. This is a fine photo, George! She posed perfectly as if in a studio. It is so sharp I aaaalmost want to reach out and touch her.

    Like

    • Thanks, Jo Nell. The light just happened to be right. It’s usually too bright in the tank. She is a “he”, I discovered, but I still call him “Big Lucy” and refer to him as “her” too. No matter. It must offend him, though, since he bit the hell out of my finger…sliced it open on the end. He didn’t intend to bite. I just shoved my finger in his mouth with medicine on it and he snapped his mouth shut. Duh… You’d think I should know better. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • She’s a “he”, I discovered. At any rate, he’s still “Big Lucy”. He does lots of interesting stuff now that he’s a big boy and not so timid. Thanks for stopping by, Richard! I have lots of catching up to do at your place! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Thanks, Carissa. He’s something else now that he thinks he’s a big boy! And, he is not particularly fond of being held either! He sliced open my finger one day when I tried to stuff some medicine into his mouth. It was unintentional, but it was a deep, impressive wound. Guess I won’t be doing that again. Chuckle… I’ve enjoyed your FB posts lately. Interesting perspective. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hi, Sylvia! He’s a cheeky fellow now! Not at all attached to being held. He resists and puffs out his beard. It’s comical sometimes. However, he did slice a nice sized cut in my finger when I stupidly put it in his mouth! A deep cut like a razor. Those harmless looking teeth are not harmless at all if you jerk your finger out of his mouth! I know better, but I wasn’t expecting him to close his mouth. Chuckle… Thank you for stopping in to visit us. You are always so nice to do that. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Ah, Rob, you are too kind to me! πŸ™‚ Thank you very much. It’s getting easier to photograph him since he’s grown so big. I hope all is well In S.A.! and the book? Oh dear, I have to check on the book!!

      Like

    • No, she will be officially an adult at two years old. She might grow to 18-22 inches long including her tail, of course. She’s about twelve inches long now. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Hi George! Great portrait – your pet’s looking in very good condition now. I hope you’re getting on well, my dear. Here we’re rather too hot and humid but doubtless we’ll be back to usual English weather soon! Adrian πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes, he’s doing fine now. Thanks. It’s always too hot and too humid in SE Texas! πŸ™‚ I am doing well. Thank you for always stopping by to visit us, Adrian! I was scrolling through your posts yesterday. Some really fine work. πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments

