August 21, 2014

Dear Charlie,

Going forward, my entries may be boring or repetitive or may not make much sense to my friends on WordPress, but I am going to share them anyway because my friends here have been so very kind to me.  I want you to know that my friends here have encouraged me from the beginning of this blog.  Without their help, I don’t think that I would have continued to post the photographs and stories.  I am grateful to them for their support.  I will continue to enter the things about my daily life here for you to remember for as long as I am able to enter them.  🙂  It is my hope that they will be meaningful to you.

for-Charlie

I know that you don’t like Big Lucy at all.

I remember when we got the terrarium for Mr. Frog, and I said that it would be good for a Bearded Dragon when you tired of the frog.

You looked horrified and said that you wouldn’t touch one of those things!

And you have been as good as your word with Big Lucy.

So has your mom!

And your Dad, too!

Chuckle…

The other day, when your mom and I were at the pet store to buy dog food, I was looking at the baby dragons.

Your mom came up behind me, and said, “No more dragons, Mom!”

She knows me fairly well, I think…

🙂

36 Comments on “August 21, 2014

  1. I wish there were blogs when my son, Alex, was growing up. I would have a lasting gift of “me” to give to him in his early years–an electronic baby book! You’re smart and wonderful to do this! ❤

    Like

    • An electronic baby book! What a great idea! Your honest books and blog will tell Alex all he needs to know about his mom. What a gift to your son! Thanks, Lorna.

      Like

    • Since Big Lucy and Little Lucy are taken, I suppose I could naming them Small, Medium, Large, Extra Small, etc. Years ago, I used to know each of our employees personally. Finally, I lost track and said that I only knew them by “Small, Medium and Large”, anymore. I was reminded of that recently when my daughter, who operates the business now, said the same thing! What a shame. Some of them have been there for twenty years, but others come and go too fast to keep up. Chuckle… Thanks for stopping by to visit us, Richard.

      Like

  2. Just another voice chiming in to say how much I love your blog posts. Your photography is beautiful, and I’ve learned so much from you about dragons, and more!

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Carissa. I’m so happy that you enjoy my little stories and photos, too. It means a lot to me that you visit us here. 🙂

      Like

  3. George, how are you keeping, my dear? I hope you’re well and contented. And I go along with all of the other people talking here, in hoping that you will continue blogging for as long as your are able – your posts are always fresh and alive, and a delight to read. Take good care of yourself! Adrian

    Like

    • Thanks, Sylvia! I intend to hang in here as long as I can. I’m slow because of my tremor, but I’m able still to manage, thank goodness. I appreciate your visits, you know! I love hearing from you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Collecting unusual creatures is a passion & an addiction. Hogwarts’ The Care of Magical Creatures teacher , Hagrid would tell you that. 😀
    Great composition. Remind me to tell you about Odin, the new puppy, sigh. I guess it could have been a Hippogriff. 🙂

    Like

  5. George what you are doing for Charlie is going to be treasured! So keep going! Hi Big Lucy, I’d love to give you a cuddle! Big beardie hug!!!!

    Like

    • Thank you very much! I am happy that you like the post. I enjoy the bearded dragons and adore my grandson. I always wished that I had known my grandmother as a person outside her role as my grandmother. My grandson lives next door so he knows far more about me. I simply enjoy thinking about him as an adult whom I will never know, but with whom I am able to communicate through these little messages. Thanks for stopping by to visit! 🙂

      Like

  6. I think this is going to be such a wonderful thing for Charlie. I love reading the messages and seeing the excellent photographs. I think I’ll pick big Lucy up when I see her. I’d certainly risk that as opposed to picking Rita up!!!!

    Like

    • Thanks, Linda. I doubt seriously that you will pick up Big Lucy. But, Little Lucy is sweet. You might like her okay. Given the choice, I think picking up BL is the better bet, hands down. 🙂 I enjoy leaving this little messages for Charlie. I have to keep doing them, I guess.

      Like

  7. I enjoy the dragon photos but would never touch the real ones either! Blogging has been a good experience and I can see that it will be a wonderful legacy for Charlie. You encourage all of us!

    Like

    • Reptiles do not appeal to me, generally. But there is just something about the dragons that fascinates me. They are not cold and slimy like frogs and snakes and other reptilian critters. Their undersides and hands are soft and warm. Their backs are leathery since they don’t have actual scales. They feel more like mammals than reptiles to me. I wish I had known more about my grandmother. About who she really was besides my grandmother. Chuckle… Thanks, Jo Nell.

      Like

    • Thanks, Colline. Sometimes, she looks very pink and other times she looks more tangerine colored. She changes color with every shedding of skin, it seems. The dragons are such fun to watch. Their behavior is fascinating to me. Thanks for stopping by. I hope this is a great school year for you! 🙂

      Like

    • You certainly are not alone in your skepticism about handling dragons! My daughter and Charlie think the dragons are creepy and won’t touch them. I am not attracted to reptiles, even frogs, but I like the dragons because they remind me of twenty-foot prehistoric lizards! I love the way they look into your eyes and the way they creep along as if they are stalking prey. The young ones walk normally until they become juveniles. Then they begin to practice being big dragons. It’s fun to watch them. I have sponsored a little girl who lives in Benin for several years, for her schooling. I haven’t heard from her for several months and I am a bit worried since her village is on the border with Nigeria. These are terrible times, Celestine. My heart breaks for the people. Take good care of yourself and your family. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

      Like

      • Oh George, thanks so much for helping out a deprived girl in Benin. God richly bless you. Indeed, the times are terrible George and I can understand how worried you are over the silence. What with Boko Haram’s madness and now Ebola. I pray she is fine. Is there no way you can get some news of her? Through her school perhaps? I truly pray she is safe.

        Hugs to you George. Thinking of you gals all the time. 🙂

        Like

    • Ah, thank you, Ute! Big Lucy would agree… He’s busy prancing back and forth behind the glass showing off for Little Lucy who is in her terrarium in front of and a bit lower than his. It’s hysterical. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you very much, Walter! I enjoy talking about my “zoo animals” and the garden and whatever else I happen to stumble upon. 🙂 I’m happy that you enjoy the posts! I always appreciate the visits!

      Like

Comments

