Slaying Dragons Without Trying…

Oct-20-after-vet

Well, Little Lucy is not gravid.

After a weekend of hand-wringing,

She was able to see the vet.

The good news is that her bone density is superb.

She is not egg-bound.

 x-ray-1

The bad news is that she has calcium deposits in her kidney.

As you can see on the radiograph, there is a large area of calcification in her right kidney.

When Dr. Beck evacuated the vent, there was a solid piece in the urate.

It was similar to a kidney stone.

I suppose she thought it was an “egg”.

x-ray-II-web

I immediately suggested that I had given her too much calcium.

Dr. Beck agreed.

It is very rare to find too much calcium in a female dragon.

Usually, they suffer from calcium deficiency diseases such as MBD (metabolic bone disease).

And other awful conditions like mouth rot.

Well, I overdid the prevention.

Dr. Beck thinks the kidney deposits will break up and resolve.

If they don’t, she still has one good kidney.

And I have learned how to slay a dragon without trying!

Chuckle…

Little Lucy is feeling fine.

Thanks to all of you!

I appreciate every expression of interest and concern.

I haven’t replied to any of your comments since I was waiting for answers, too.

Please know that while I am trying to cram my remaining months full of things

that I must do, I am forever grateful and warmed by your constant reassurances.

Blessings to all of you!

🙂

42 Comments on “Slaying Dragons Without Trying…

  1. Hopefully all will be well. No milk or cheese or other calcium rich treats. 🙂

    Like

  2. Little Lucy must have been very uncomfortable with such and enormous kidney stone hogging the space in her slender body. The exray of her full body looks like a tiny Halloween costume! So glad she’s on the way to health.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Linda! The area in her kidney isn’t really like a stone. It’s just a big area of calcification. I don’t think it’s painful since you can’t palpate it. She did have a stone-like formation in her urate that the vet expressed when he emptied her vent. I doubt that was painful either, actually. I’m so glad that I found out what the problem was before I blew her kidney. I think she’ll be fine now. The x-ray does look a bit like a Halloween costume! Thanks, Linda.

      Like

    • Hi, Adrian! I liked the whole-body image, too. I am so happy that Little Lucy is going to be okay. I almost blew her kidney! Leave it to me to overdo the care! Chuckle… Thanks for always visiting us, Adrian. Hope you are doing well, too! 🙂 I think of you lots.

      Like

  3. I’m trying to envision you in the vet’s waiting room with your dragon. 🙂 I’ll bet Lucy was the most popular patient that day! Glad she will be fine.
    xo
    e

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Elisa! Most people don’t like lizards, you know. I was sitting beside a man who used to have an iguana. Now, that’s a big lizard! Yes, thank goodness I didn’t blow her kidneys before I realized something wasn’t right! Leave it to me to overdo the care! Chuckle…

      Like

  4. Well, so much for an ounce of prevention… over calcification… who’da thunk. Good thing you caught it. Sadly, you can bet that every one of the brood that LL sprung from is probably dead by now. People take them home and end up ignoring them after the newness wears off. LL is luck to have you!

    Like

    • Child, I don’t remember the comment, so I never-minded anyway, I reckon. Chuckle… I liked the way the whole-body x-ray looked, too. Thank goodness she’s okay. I almost blew her kidney! 🙂

      Like

    • Hi, Charlene. Remember to follow the directions carefully when you get your dragon! Lots of calcium for babies, but lighten up when they stop growing rapidly. I almost blew a kidney! I think she’ll be fine now, though. Hope everything in SA is good. Thanks for always dropping in to visit. If you lived here, I would leave my dragons in your care when I exit! Chuckle…

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Risco! Thanks for stopping by to visit us. You are kind and I appreciate it. I liked the whole-body one too. She is doing well now, but I nearly blew one of her kidneys! Thank goodness, I found out what the problem was. I won’t make that mistake again, for sure. I love photographing the dragons. I have more photos of the animals than I have of my only grandson! Chuckle… Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Lorna. Sorry it took me so long to answer. You know, you’re the first person I ever heard observe that. I was immediately struck by exactly that phenomenon when I started caring for the dragons. They literally die if you don’t provide exactly for their needs. Well, they die with us because they belong in the Australian deserts. Actually, many die in their natural environments following the winter brumation. They just don’t wake up! Little Lucy thought she was going to brumate, but I told her I would not have it! I take her out, play with her and put her in warm baths to make her eat and stay out of that cave! Chuckle… She’s fine not, Lorna. Thanks so much for always following us along! 🙂

      Like

  5. Of course I’m very happy that Little Lucy is okay. I thought your expression of gratitude was beautifully stated. Those X-Rays made very interesting photographs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Linda. I thought the whole-body one was cool, too. The close-up of the kidney (that you didn’t see) is impressive. She has a large area of calcification, but she’ll be okay, thank goodness!

      Like

  6. Whew. You’re so good. Taking LL to the vet for x-rays and everything! Wow. As a biologist I found the radiographs really fun – thanks. I’m glad all is well and that you and LL can now get back down to business. Thinking of you. D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry it took me so long to answer, D. Haven’t been up to snuff for a couple of days. I sleep far too little and smoke and drink too much iced coffee for a civilized person! Finally caught up with me. Chuckle… I’m not as tough as I used to be, I reckon. I lived for thirty years on caffeine, nicotine and adrenalin. The human body is a tough piece of equipment, I can vouch for that! I thought the radiographs were cool too. How would you know what is wrong with your baby dragon if you didn’t x-ray her? I take routine fecal samples in for microscopic examination to check for coccidia and parasites. But, I gave her too much calcium for too long. It’s okay when they are very little, but I kept doing it when she started eating lots of big roaches, so she was just getting too much. Duh… You’d think that would have occurred to me… Not. Now, the little witch thinks she’s going to go into brumation, but she IS NOT. I am taking her out of her cave, giving her 100-degree baths and playing with her so she will keep eating. Brumation can kill them. In the wild, many dragons do not wake up from the winter brumation. I told her that I simply would not have it, so she could just wake up and pay attention!! Chuckle… She gave up and shed and started eating. 😉 I am determined to keep them from doing that. Can you believe I just bought another chameleon from California? He arrives on Tuesday. A “sub-adult”. He’s already fairly big so I won’t worry so much about him. My little one worries me to death. He’s about 3+ inches in body length. They’re harder to care for than the dragons. I am having fun, though, and I always wanted a chameleon. I know the kids are thingking, “what else is granny gonna’ drag up??! Chuckle… Hello to Susanne!

      Like

      • I’m impressed you kept LL from entering into brumation … quick a trick. I read about Sam this morning … and you’ve gone ahead and ordered him a friend! You’re a good person. Will he enjoy the company do you think? I will pass all the recent developments along to Joanna … I know she will enjoy the images of Sam … she has a thing for Chameleons too! Rest well and be happy. D

        Liked by 1 person

        • Chameleons are solitary creatures who do not socialize. Males are territorial and cannot be housed together. The dragons are the same. You can’t house even males and females together. A great many humans would do well to emulate dragons and chameleons, I think! Chuckle… I read that some dragons die in brumation, so I told LL that she just was not going to do it! 😉 There is no reason for it in captivity. It’s just instinctive in some of them. But interfering with it is not harmful.

          Like

          • Each of your posts teaches me something. For real George! D PS: I’ve just read some of my recent comments to you … please forgive all the typos! Sorry. It looks so bad. I don’t proof enough and hate autocorrect. D

            Liked by 1 person

    • HI, Alessandro! I was surprised by the radiograph too. They aren’t exactly like x-rays that I’ve ever seen. I liked it, too. Yes, good news. If she had a calcium deficiency, it would be far worse. These animals are a delight. I never thought I would like a reptile, of all things. I don’t even like real frogs! They are different from most reptiles. Soft-bellied and sweet and fascinating to watch. I keep them in terrariums where I can see them all the time. Really fun and not much trouble. Thank you so much for coming along with us, Alessandro. It is kind of you, and I appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you, Ute. She looked very happy to be back at home on her basking spot! I swear she was smiling! 🙂 She was so cold at the vet’s office while we waited that I cupped my hands around her on my chest to try to keep her warm! Chuckle… I know people think I’m nuts! She is doing well, and I am so relieved to know what the problem is. Thank you for taking the time to visit with us and to chat! 🙂

      Like

    • Leave it to me to be too good to my animals! Easy on the calcium, George! 🙂 She’s doing fine. She has at least one good kidney left even if the other one doesn’t clear. And her bone density is superb. Chuckle… Thank you so much for following our progress, Ute! You are too kind!

      Like

  7. So glad Little Lucy will be okay, George…. you always do take such good care of all your zoo babies! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for visiting, Lisa! I was hand-wringing about that little girl all weekend until I could get in to see Dr. Beck. I was relieved that she wasn’t egg-bound. Wouldn’t I be the one who overdoses her dragons on calcium? Over ninety percent of pet store dragons die within the first year from calcium deficiency because of poor UBV light. Now, I was doing it RIGHT, so I thought. Chuckle… I am so happy that she is okay. Thanks again, Lisa! 🙂

      Like

      • George, I am also relieved she wasn’t egg-bound. I don’t know much about that, but it sounds like a bad thing. Sending you an email, also (hoping I got your email address correct). Hope to catch up soon! Love and miss ya! Lisa

        Like

  8. Fascinating, George! I’m glad your little dragon is okay. I think I need to go back and catch up on your blog–I might have missed something important.

    Like

    • Well, if you missed that I’m dying, maybe so! Chuckle… I am sorry that I haven’t visited you, Naomi. You’ve been so damn good to me. I’m on a mission to do all of the stuff I want to do while I still can. If I don’t answer your comment, that doesn’t mean I didn’t love it. I do. Trust me. Thank you for always being so kind. I was so worried about Little Lucy. Now, I feel good about her since she’ll be okay even if the affected kidney doesn’t recover. She’s such a sweetheart. Can you imagine a reptile being sweet? Me either, but she is. Chuckle… Thanks again, Naomi! 🙂

      Like

      • Dear George,
        I went back and of course discovered what you were referring to. I am so impressed with the way you are approaching your remaining months, days, hours, and each precious moment. There are many people like me, who are saddened by your news, but we are also inspired by your courage in dealing with your illness.
        And thank you for your kind words, George. I have always felt a special fondness for you, as you were one of the first bloggers I ever connected with when I first began to blog three years ago. I always thought you were an excellent photographer and writer. Now I thank you for the honor that you give us in sharing your story and your life with us. I know I have a lot to learn from you. Hugs to you, and give Lucy a little pat for me.

        Liked by 2 people

    • Hi, Rob! She lives in her own tank separate from Big Lucy, so I knew any eggs would be infertile. I feared that she was egg-bound which would have been bad. I think she will be fine. Thank goodness, I discovered it before I blew both kidneys with calcium! I don’t think Big Lucy is affected. Dr. Beck will x-ray again in a month to see if the deposits have broken up. If not, she still has one good kidney which will be enough. Thanks, Rob! 🙂

      Like

Comments

